DUI in Riverside
DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, is one of the most common offense in the city of Riverside. According to 2011 DMV data, in 2010 3,676 people were convicted of misdemeanor DUI in Riverside Court. Another 115 people were convicted of felony DUI. Riverside is also home to The University of California, Riverside. College areas tend to be magnets for police officers looking to make DUI arrests.
A DUI arrest can happen to anyone. If you are stopped by police and found to have a .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or more you will be charged with DUI. DUI charges always lead to serious consequences. You can even be arrested if the officer feels you are under the influence of prescription drugs. After an arrest you only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing which will give you a chance to challenge the automatic license suspension process that begins when you are taken into custody. If you are convicted of DUI, you can be sentenced to jail time, steep fines, community service, alcohol treatment and more. The California DMV reports that in 2010 over 98% of DUI offenders in Riverside court were sentenced to at least some jail time. 95.1% of offenders also were sentenced to probation. Some situations can even lead to felony DUI charges.
Riverside DUI Offenses
First DUI: Even a 1st DUI conviction can result in a week of jail, fees and fines, community service, probation and more. A DUI charge is not like other driving offenses; you cannot simply pay a fine and be done with it. In 2010 2,809 people were convicted of first time DUI in Riverside court.
Second DUI: If you are arrested for DUI in Riverside and have already been convicted of DUI in the past 10 years, you will be charged with a 2nd DUI offense. In 2010, a little over 20% of DUI convictions in Riverside criminal court were for 2nd DUI offenses. A second DUI is the same as your first only the penalties for conviction are steeper.
Third DUI: If you are arrested for DUI and have prior DUI convictions in the past ten years, the penalties for each subsequent DUI get greater and greater. In addition, judges and prosecutors look to crack down on repeat DUI offenders which make it even harder to get a plea deal or a reduced sentence. 145 people were convicted for a third DUI in 2010 in Riverside criminal court.
DUI Accidents: When a serious accident takes place, Riverside police often check the drivers for DUI. If you have a BAC over the legal limit and are charged with causing an accident, you will be arrested. If someone was injured or killed, you can face additional charges for DUI injuries.
Under 21 DUI: Riverside has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drivers drinking and driving. Minors under the age of 21 cannot have any alcohol in their BAC while driving. In 2010 25 minors were convicted of juvenile DUI in Riverside court and one was convicted of felony DUI.
DUI and Drugs: Drug related DUIs are a growing trend. Not only can you be arrested for driving under the influence of illegal drugs, but you can be charged for DUI involving prescription drugs or even over the counter drugs like Benadryl.
Criminal Courts in Riverside
Riverside Hall of Justice
4100 Main Street
Riverside, CA 92501
Hours: Mon – Fri 7:30 am to 4:00 pm
Phone: (951) 777-3147
Riverside DUI Process
A DUI charge begins with the stop. Riverside police will stop your car if you make a driving error and if they see symptoms of intoxication, they will ask you to take a sobriety test. You have a right to decline all sobriety tests. If you decline a blood test or certain breath tests, you will not be legally penalized, but you will face a year of license suspension. This is called Implied Consent Law. If the police officers feel there is enough evidence against you, you will be arrested for DUI and taken to jail. After you are released it is vital to call a DUI lawyer right away. Immediate action is needed if you want to get the best results in your case.
If you have been charged with a DUI related crime in Riverside, call our office immediately. The sooner you call, the sooner we can get to work defending you. For every charge there is a defense and our attorneys are dedicated to finding that defense for your case. Our lawyers want you to know that an arrest does not mean that you are guilty. You have the choice to fight your charges and clear your name. In some cases we may even be able to get your charges reduced or dismissed. In 2010, for example, 40 DUI suspects were convicted of reckless driving involving alcohol in Riverside court.