When a person gets arrested for a DUI, they often have many questions. One of the common questions attorneys hear is how the arrest will affect your ability to drive legally. The truth is there are many factors that go into keeping your license. Immediately after an arrest, you will be given a temporary license by police. This is good for 30 days and then the DMV will place an administrative suspension on your license. You have 10 days to request a DMV hearing in order to fight this suspension. A lawyer will be able to file this request for you as well as represent you in your hearing.
The next factor that affects your license is whether or not you refused to take a chemical sobriety test. During your arrest you will be asked to submit to a blood or breath state administered chemical test. If you refuse to take this test, you are violating California Implied Consent laws. Regardless of the outcome of your DUI case, a refusal will result in a minimum of 6 months of license suspension. These suspensions are hard for even the most experienced attorneys to fight.
Lastly, your DUI sentence can affect your license as well. If you are convicted of DUI, one of the stipulations of your sentence may be license suspension. The good news about DUI license suspension is that you have options when you hire an experienced California DUI defense lawyer. In some cases your attorney can get you a limited driving permit so that you can still drive to work and/or school. Sometimes you can even get your license returned early if you install an ignition interlock device that tests your breath for traces of alcohol before you start your vehicle. Every DUI case is different so it is important to call a DUI attorney right away.